Delhi polls: BJP CM candidate Kiran Bedi loses to AAP’s SK Bagga


AAP’s S K Bagga defeated Bedi from the seat which had stood by BJP even during the 15 years of Congress rule under Sheila Dikshit.

Veteran BJP leader and Union minister Harsh Vardhan had been winning the seat before he vacated it after winning in Lok Sabha election and BJP pitted Bedi, who joined the party just weeks before th polls, from here as it was considered a “safe” constituency.

However, the wave in favour of AAP and its Chief Ministerial candidate Arvind Kejriwal proved too strong for even most of veterans.

Though BJP had braced for defeat after exit polls, but its senior leaders had told media that Bedi would lead the party’s charge as the opposition leader in Delhi Assembly as they expected she would win and BJP would manage respectable numbers.