BJP poll panel meets; discusses strategy, candidate selection


“The members of the committee also discussed the names of probable candidates. For every seat, two or three names have been proposed and after finalising the list, we will send it to the central leadeship which will only take a final call on this matter,” said a senior BJP leader.

He also said the party is considering giving tickets to its around 25 sitting MLAs and youths will also be given priority while distributing tickets.

READ: AAP, Congress deride Kiran Bedi joining BJP

BJP general secretary Ashish Sood may contest elections from Janakpuri seat from where senior leader Jagdish Mukhi has won thrice.

Besides, the name of party spokesperson Rajiv Babbar is doing rounds for Tilak Nagar assembly seat while south Delhi MP Ramesh Bidhuri also wants his relative to be given a ticket from Tughlakabad from where he was MLA before becoming an MP.

“Apart from candidates, election campaigns were discussed. It was also decided to focus on Metro stations as most people travel in Metro trains,” he also said.

ALSO READ: BJP to announce Delhi Assembly poll candidates on January 19: Sources

Senior leaders also deliberated on probable star campaigners for the polls.

“As of now, we are preparing the list of our star campaigners which will include celebrities – Hema Malini, Vinod Khanna and among others,” he said.

Latest N