Zimbabwe look for revival against minnows UAE


The Elton Chigumbura-led side, which put up a fight in the loss against South Africa in its opening game, has warned UAE of no mercy with the captain promising a “ruthless” approach.

“You have to take every game seriously, do the basics right and make sure when you get into a good winning position you are ruthless and win the game,” Chigumbura said on Wednesday.

Zimbabwe did put the Proteas in a spot at 83 for four only to see David Miller and Jean-Paul Duminy stitching a 256-run unbeaten stand to take the AB de Villiers-led side to 339 in 50 overs.

In reply, Zimbabwe reached 191 for two before they lost their last eight wickets for just 86 runs.

UAE, on the other hand, do not want to be mere number-makers in their second World Cup appearance after 1996, when they won their only game against the Netherlands.

The Mohammad Tauqir-led side is taking inspiration from gutsy Ireland, who humbled West Indies in their first match of the showpiece event and Irish captain William Porterfield saying that the win was not an upset.

The UAE team, which is a mix of expatriates and semi-professionals, is working hard to make its presence felt in international cricket and captain Tauqir, who is an investment banker himself, said the Ireland win is a huge boost to every so-called minnow in the mega-event.

“It was a great win for Ireland. Most of the associate nations are doing well and we would like to prove a point also,” said Tauqir.

The Asian team has a mix of youth and experience with Tauqir (42 years) and leading batsman Khurram Khan (43 years) sharing the distinction of being the tournament’s oldest players.


Zimbabwe: Elton Chigumbura (capt), Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Chamu Chibhabha, Craig Ervine, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Hamilton Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Solomon Mire, Tawanda Mupariwa, Tinashe Panyangara, Brendan Taylor, Prosper Utseya, Sean Williams

UAE: Mohammad Tauqir (capt), Khurram Khan, Amjad Ali, Amjad Javed, Andri Berenger, Fahad Alhashmi, Manjula Guruge, Kamran Shazad, Krishna Chandran, Mohammad Naveed, Nasir Aziz, Swapnil Patil, Rohan Mustafa, Saqlain Haider, Shaiman Anwar.